Miscellaneous

About Windows System Restore


System Restore is another neat offering available in the Microsoft Windows ecosystem. Quite simply, it is a recovery tool provided by Windows that allows you to easily retract any erroneous changes that you might have made in the operating system.

Usually, the System Restore is used to recover important Windows files and settings that you might have changed unintentionally.

These include changes to drivers, the registry, system files, installed programs, and much more! You could imagine the System Restore as a Ctrl + Z for the entire Windows ecosystem.

How Does The System Restore Work?

The System Restore function affects only Windows-related effects and returns them to a previous state. Whenever you make changes, be it installing new programs, new drivers, messing with core Windows settings, etc. it automatically creates a restore state for your computer.

If you feel uncomfortable with these changes, you can easily use the previous restore state. This enables your computer to get to the state just before you made the change or installed the particular program.

System Restore Doesn’t Affect Your Files!

So you just encountered errors from your installed programs and might want to engage a System Restore. However, you are continually perplexed about how it could affect those official documents of yours. Well, the good news is that you don’t need to worry about this at all.

System Restore works only with core Windows settings and changes. And the Windows ecosystem takes this quite literally.

The System Restore will not affect any personal files such as documents, emails, photos, or any other personal file. Therefore, you don’t need to worry about any changes if you save important components on your computer.

Additionally, if you ever download any important personal files on your computer, you won’t ever have to worry about it either. They, too, won’t be affected in the slightest.

Creating A System Restore

To perform a System Restore, it is mandatory to have a Restore point in place. Restore points are automatically created when you make changes in the operating system. You can always use any of these restore points for reverting system settings to a particular point.

However, if you’re on an endeavor to make changes in the Windows ecosystem, you should always create a restore point forehand. This could help you to prevent the potential problems that might arise. Here are the steps for you to accomplish the same:

  1. Start by launching the Start Menu and search for the Create a restore point option.
  2. When the window appears, click the same. This will direct you to the System Properties window.
  3. This brings you face-to-face with numerous tabs. Select the tab for the Protection Settings.
  4. Select the Create button.
  5. Now, type in a descriptive title for the restore point. You can type anything that you want here. However, for ease, it is usually advised that you mention the reason for creating the restore point.
  6. Once you’re done with this, click on the Create button. Finally, proceed to click the Close button and then Ok button.

And there you go. Now you have a restore point that you can utilize if you ever run into any error while making changes to the  Windows ecosystem.

Performing A System Restore

Now that you have created a restore point, you are now free to experiment with those sacred Windows settings. Yes, the same settings which you were specifically told not to mess with. So, go on now.

What? You already messed up those Windows settings? Good. Now, you can learn how to use the previously created restore point to revert the settings to what they were before you messed them up.

Here are the steps to how you can use the Restore Point:

  1. Launch the Start Menu and search for the Create a restore point option.
  2. Selecting this option will bring you to the System Restore menu.
  3. Select System Restore and henceforth, click the Next button.
  4. Now, select the restore point to determine the stage to which you want to revert your computer to. If you want, you can select the restore point that you just created.
  5. If you want, you can also select the Scan for affected programs option and get a glimpse into the applications that won’t be available any longer after restoring.
  6. Once complete, click the Close button, followed by the Next button.
  7. Finally, click on the Finish button to complete the restore process.

Maggie is a lifelong geek. She loves sharing tips and tricks about new technology and enjoys everything related to computers. Also an avid bookworm and you can always find her, in her favorite laboratory tinkering with computers, smartphones and other devices.